The Olympian Part I

INT. SWIMMING POOL OLYMPIC SIZED – DAY

This guy, ALBERTO CONGRESS, 17, amazing swimmer’s body, is swimming.  Also, blond hair.  He swims so hard.  So hard that his coach, TIM AZWEDO, bites through his whistle, crunching it in his teeth like so many whatevers are crunchy.

Alberto finishes up his strokes and gets out of the pool, dripping with water he recently peed in.  He pulls off his goggles and swim cap and just looks fucking dope.  Like the Terminator of swimming.

Tim Azwedo approaches him.

TIM AZWEDO

Daaaaaannnnngggg!

ALBERTO

I know, right?

TIM AZWEDO

Right?!

ALBERTO

LOL.

TIM AZWEDO

You did the damn thing!

ALBERTO

I did.  Why are you talking like that?

TIM AZWEDO

Because I’m Cool Coach now.

ALBERTO

Shit.  Forgot about that.  The guys wanted me to say something.

TIM AZWEDO

About what?

ALBERTO

Cool Coach.

TIM AZWEDO

Too cool?  LOL.

ALBERTO

No.  LOL.

TIM AZWEDO

Oh.  LOL.

ALBERTO

 We all think it’s dumb as hell.  Just be who you are: Tim Azwedo, Olympic

swimming coach for the United States Swimming Team.

TIM AZWEDO

You’re right.  I got some shit to go through I guess.

Tim Azwedo walks away, to deal with some of the shit he has to go through.  I guess.

Alberto shakes out his fatigued muscles.  Did he really just swim that fast?  Did he?

MAN

Yes, you did.

Whoa!  Wow!  Wow wow wow!

ALBERTO

(shocked)

Are you… are you telepathic?

MAN

No.

ALBERTO

Do you know what “telepathic” means?

MAN

Yes.

ALBERTO

So you know I’m basically asking you if you can read my thoughts?

MAN

I fucking know that shit.  I’m not telepathic.  You were talking out loud.  Do you know what “out loud” means?

ALBERTO

I feel like you’re fucking with me now, an Olympic swimmer just training for the Olympics.

MAN

How would you like to swim even faster?

ALBERTO

Um… how?  I already train the shit out of my body EVERY. DAY.

MAN

These.

The Man almost inexplicably dumps out the contents of a backpack onto the warm, wet concrete of the swimming pool area cement.  There are little jars of liquid, pills and all kinds of shit you would associate with steroids and HGH.

ALBERTO

Whoa.  Call me Hall & Oates ’cause I can’t go for that.  No can do.

Albert crosses away, shaking his head, thinking about Hall & Oates and where the fuck is his Private Eyes CD is.

MAN

This motherfucker.

The Man starts to put all his paraphernalia back into his backpack.

MAN

He will change his mind.  He will.  Otherwise, we will have no story.

The Man vanishes (walks out of the swimming pool area).

TO BE CONTINUED…

Leave a Reply

